Dye Workshop- Stretching Paper, Procion Painting and Batik.

I was really looking forward to getting into the print studio as print is my favourite technique for surface design. The initial part of the morning we stretched paper and experimented with dye resists to see what effects we could recreate. `I found the was resists the most effective and I could develop this further into an actual design. /home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/8d5/77552902/files/2014/12/img_4790.jpg

In the afternoon we moved onto painting directly onto a screen. I have done similar things in the past with charcoal and pigments to create very gestural drawings. I incorporated my drawings from the Llandaff cathedral”s stainglass window. The technique was an interesting one however I do prefer the uniform effect created from a screen print. /home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/8d5/77552902/files/2014/12/img_4786.jpg

I also had the time to develop the wax resists in batik. I would like to develop my batik skills to create more refined and detailed piece. I could use a small Canting to allow more control over the was as it will come out slower. I also incorporated the stain glass design into my batik./home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/8d5/77552902/files/2014/12/img_4795.jpg

Leave a Reply

