Subject Material Matters Review

Llandaff Cathedral and the autumnal weather around me largely influenced this project. I expanded my skills in stitch and developed the knowledge and skills I already have. I found working with the hot dye baths really interesting, as I have never used them before. I was amazed by the vibrancy of the colours and the patterns created from simple shibora techniques.

Taking influence from some artists that I researched I developed my drawings into samples. The mixed media piece, which was directly influenced, by Anne Brooke is one of my favourite pieces of the final 12. This is because it incorporated some of the mark making techniques that I developed in the Monday drawing sessions. Overall I am happy with the outcome of this project and I feel that this term I have fully explored the old and new skills.

Leave a Reply

