Placement Print and Nazanin Kamali

I have plenty of designs in illustrator and I need to go back to photoshop. As I would like to use the repeat print skill I learnt in previous workshops. Nazanin Kamali is a textile artist who has created this collection for her 2015 collection.

Screen Shot 2015-06-03 at 22.39.24 Screen Shot 2015-06-03 at 22.39.16 Screen Shot 2015-06-03 at 22.39.55 Screen Shot 2015-06-03 at 22.39.41 Screen Shot 2015-06-03 at 22.39.32

These cushions are striking due to the minimal colours and the large placement print. I find that the simple shapes make the design really stand out and I feel a simple design like this would stand out from my designs so far. Her designs are digital or hand stitch which would give a the cushions a more tactile feel. However I feel it would work really nicely as a digital print

photoshopdesign3This is my placement design to go with my collection. After playing around with a few original drawings I decided to go with poppy design.  I feel that this poppy design really represents the “Scanned Memory” properties and the key features of the brief. I layered the filled in poppy behind the drawing to give the design some depth, I used the opacity tool to create a delicate edge to the design. I decided to select the lightest grey colour from my palette as I wanted to mirror the impact of Nazanin Kamali’s cushions. The simple background really allows the design to be the centre of attention and standout. The difference in scale from designs add another dimension to the collection.

Leave a Reply

