Pre-Morocco

I had never really thought much about the actual definition of material culture. This project wants us to explore it fully. Considering I am a textile designer “material culture’ should be highly important to me and my work.

The actual definition of ‘material culture’ is:

Material culture is the physical evidence of a culture in the objects and architecture they make, or have made. The term tends to be relevant only in archeological and anthropological studies, but it specifically means all material evidence which can be attributed to culture, past or present.
This isn’t too far from what I expected but researching it did make me want to think about it more. From my prospective its interesting to think that I design things a lot and they are subconsciously influenced my the material culture that is around me.
Im intersted to now go to Morocco and witness what their material culture is. I want to learn why they may or may not have a different material culture to us. This means I need to look into their history, religion, geography, architecture etc. All of these can effect the objects that people have in their lives.
Leave a Reply

