Drawing from Photos

When we were away I did a lot of observational drawings and now I want to develop the patterns I could see in Marrakech.

These are initial drawings I have done. I used watercolours to add in the bright colours as well as the more neutral Berber colours. Looking through my photos and thinking through my experiences I was initially drawn to the bright and detailed islamic patterns. I thought these were really beautiful. However when visiting a few museums and a berber village I found an appreciation for the Berber crafts. Their simple designs have meaning woven into them and the naturally occurring colours are much easier to live with.

I think I would like to explore both the islamic and the Berber patterns as I feel that they both have a huge importance in the history of Morocco.

Leave a Reply

