Rachel Hannah Wright

Rachel Hannah Wright is an artist that I have been following for a while and I’ve always wanted to try weaving. I feel like this would be a good project to try and experiment with weaving because of the large craft trade in Marrakech. There were lots of rug shops in the souks and the Berber women would weave all of their textiles products.

Screen Shot 2016-02-11 at 00.07.22.png

Rachels company is ‘Willow Brooke Design’ and when researching into her further I found most of her designs were created on a simple lap loom. I feel that her designs are very modern and this is something I would like to emulate in my work. A lot of weaving books I have read in the past have been very outdated in their style. I also like how she turns her weaves in different products as well as just wall hangings.

I think thatย weaving will be a great way for me to combine Berber and Islamic patterns in a way that is in-keeping with Moroccan crafts. In wrights designs it is clear that simple shapes can easily create interesting weaves just by repeating them, adding texture and colour. I feel that this is something I could achieve in the time frame and within my skill set.

Leave a Reply

