Initial Weave

IMG_3513

This is my first weaving attempt. I used a medium weight yarn and kept a a simple weaving technique. Even though the weave is very basic I was very pleased with the outcome. I feel like I learnt a lot about the technique of weaving on a lap loom and I look forward to experimenting more. I feel that I should develop this weave by possible stitching into it. I feel that this needs a lot more texture as it is too plain in some places and I feel this doesn’t represent the detailed patterns of Islamic art or the tactility of the berber textiles.

Leave a Reply

