Tutorial with Helen

A tutorial is what I needed today. Korea is looming and I was stressing about not getting everything done as quickly as I would like. Today I managed to talk through everything with Helen and it consolidated my ideas in my head. It was also great to have some reassurance. Helen pointed out to me that a lot of the images I had selected or drawn were of architecture related with culture therefore I will continue to develop this. I was also concerned that I wasn’t involving any stitch in my designs so far but Helen wants me to push my printing skills. This is something I really want to do; I really want to perfect my printing skills in my final year. I really enjoy the process of printing and I find the outcomes varied and satisfying. We were also discussing using laser cutting and etching and I want to experiment with pushing my backward and working on backgrounds rather then bringing them out.

I feel that for the time being I’m going to work on an array of substrates. I feel that this will allow to experiment with textures and surfaces.

Helen highlighted that I need to finish my mood boards but was also positive about the direction they were going in.

Leave a Reply

