Artist Research: Katharine Watson

 

Screen Shot 2016-11-01 at 12.04.48.png

Katherine Watson is an american print maker who fell in love with print in college. She decided to travel to India to study block printing and this developed her work further. She now works out of her own studio and takes influences from her travels.

I knew that in this project I wanted to develop my printing skills and therefore was looking for inspiration from print makers. I find it really interesting that she has similar inspirations as me; travelling to India and beyond. I feel that block printing has it’s own style and the process can create a lovely texture to the prints. I really want to bring this into my work as I feel the style will be in keeping with my theme of travel.

Screen Shot 2016-11-01 at 12.04.54.png

The above photo is a good example of the texture that I feel that can be brought through block/ Lino printing. I also like the combined print on the envelope and the card. I hadn’t previously thought about the envelope but I think it is important and also another opportunity to develop the product.

Leave a Reply

