Working on a New Block

After my tutorial yesterday I really want to develop my block prints. I have taken some inspiration from Andrea Lauren to have layered blocks. I feel that this will allow for my detailed prints and bring in multiple colours. I have decided to take one of my initial drawings of Hong Kong; the drawing is of the Nan Lian Garderns. It has traditional Chinese architecture and I wanted to do this to contrast to the previous print of the modern skyline of Hong Kong.

img_5591

These two blocks are going to layer together. The block on the left will set a background colour and the block on the right is the outline and detailing. When cutting the left block I cut out some places to allow details on the second block to stand out and give the appearance of windows. The blocks wont perfectly match up but I look forward to seeing how they will look together.

I used tracing paper to transfer the design onto the Lino and then went over that with a permanent marker.

Leave a Reply

