Design Development: Large Work

Recently, I feel that I have been working on the same things and not been making much progress. Therefore, today I wanted to change it up and work on something different. Within the Korean dining I found the sharing of dishes and the amount of tableware really key to the experience. The sharing of dishes is a deep rooted Korean tradition and I feel that this will help with the loneliness epidemic that I have been reading about in the UK. So, I taped out some rolls of the size of a table top and started to draw out a table setting for a Korean BBQ. It was inspired by my experiences and created from the further research I have done into Korean Table manners. The paper was 1.5m by 0.90m; which is the standard size of table for 4-6 dinners. I also made sure the chopsticks were the correct length of 23cm. Other than these specific measurements it was a very free process. I walked around the table adding rings to represent the base of each item of tableware. I really enjoyed it doing it and its really got my mind jogging again.

IMG_7056

I want to now develop this into a possible outcome of a wall hanging or a table top itself. I feel that the drawing speaks a lot about the experience of dining in Korea and the use of free hand drawing with ink adds to the very free and chaotic experience of never ending side dishes.

Leave a Reply

